Let your geek flag fly!

It was an awesome Christmas for me. Among other presents, my husband got me:

  • The Zachary Quinto “Spock” figurine – don’t get me wrong, I love “Classic Spock” too, but “New Spock” is pretty hot.
  • The “Amok Time” figurines, with pose-able Kirk and Spock, along with weaponry.  I plan on posing them for my new Facebook photo soon.
  • An Eddie Izzard DVD.  I love Eddie, because he makes jokes about history.  You don’t always get a lot of that.   He also looks dashing in full-face make-up and heels.

Eddie Izzard-Performing in "Dress to Kill"

Yes, I’m a girl-geek.  I don’t spend a lot of time with the various “Star Trek” franchises anymore, but I used to.  And I’m not ashamed of it.  Thanks to my hubby, I now own Star Trek figurines, which just brings me closer to my geek roots.

 If I could meet any actor, it probably wouldn’t be the cute ones: George Clooney, Brad Pitt, or Clive Owen.  No, I would want to meet Jim Parsons (from Big Bang Theory):

Jim Parsons-Big Bang Theory

I know I’m not alone.  I’m a proud member of a large tribe: The Geeks.  We can fix your computer, we’ve been to a fan convention (maybe in character), we’ll snort at jokes that not everyone gets, and we are awesome!

So let your geek flag fly!  Read an issue of Geek Monthly – it’s a lifestyle magazine for you or the geek in your life. It covers the tv, movies, anime, and toys that every geek dreams of. The Fountaindale Library does subscribe, and it’s upstairs in the teen area.

Check out the DVD sets of Big Bang Theory from the library. Or is Battlestar Galactica more your cup of tea? Or heck, go old school and get your fix of Quantum Leap, Babylon 5, or Star Trek (all seasons) from the library too.

Be proud of our geek sisters and brothers! Celebrate your inner geek! Read just about any book in our science fiction section!

Live long and prosper.

–Jennie M.

Leave a Reply

