Corey Haim

I first fell in love with Corey Haim when I watched the movie, Lucas.   How could you not?  Even with his scrawny build and the big glasses, you couldn’t help but root for him.  Underneath those glasses you could see his mischievous bright blue eyes and his crooked smile that would later charm every teenage girl.  He was a nerd but so I was so I could relate.

My love for him grew for him with every movie he made after.  The Lost Boys was a favorite of not just teen girls but boys too.    How could you resist a movie about teenage vampire hunters? 

My personal favorite, License to Drive I saw at the theater with my friends.

We talked about that movie for days and rented on video when it came out.

I was also one of those girls who posted up his Tiger Beat and Bop posters on my wall.  I had to have the most current one each time and would get jealous if one ofmy friends had one that I didn’t.

But like anything else in the life of a teenager, as Corey aged out of teen movies, I did too.  I didn’t follow is career or lack thereof after that.  I did however, keep up on the bits of news that I would hear about him.  I watched a handful of episodes of The 2 Coreys on A&E.  It wasn’t the same.  The Corey I loved so much was gone.  I know that he had suffered substance abuse problems for most of his life and though I was disappointed, I wasn’t surprised.  He had succumbed to a life that often plagued child stars which is a shame.  And though some people may disagree with me, I did believe there was some good talent there.

When I found out yesterday that he passed, the same feeling came over me that I had when I found out the River Phoenix had died.  Heartbreak. Devastation.  Disappointment.

There were times when I would watch the 2 Coreys and wish that Corey Haim would get is act together, get clean and make that comeback that some celebrities  had successfully done (i.e. Robert Downey Jr., Drew Barrymore).  I wanted him to make it.  But now he’s gone.

On his blog, his friend, actor, Corey Feldman stated, “This is a tragic loss of a wonderful, beautiful, tormented soul, who will always be my brother, family, and best friend.”

RIP Corey Haim.  You will forever be our lost boy.

Maureen G.

One thought on “Corey Haim

  1. RIP…. you are free….

Leave a Reply

