Ode to Tim Burton

I love Tim Burton.  I’ve been a fan since I can remember. His magical, darkly whimsical movies are beautiful and heartfelt. I can remember watching Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure, Beetlejuice, and Edward Scissorhands as a kid. While I enjoyed The Corpse Bride, The Nightmare Before Christmas has been an instant and timeless classic for me. (I even had a watch from Burger King back in the early 90s.)

Danny Elfman does a beautiful job on the original movie soundtrack. There are also cover albums including Tim Burton’s Nightmare Before Christmas (2006) and Nightmare Revisited (2008). Nightmare Revisited is amazing and highly recommended.  Amy Lee’s cover of  Sally’s Song is heartbreaking while The Polyphonic Spree give a sinister-yet- fun version of Town Meeting Song.  I will have this album on repeat until Christmas. Which reminds me, What do I want for Christmas? Oh, just this Deluxe Edtion of The Art of Tim Burton, however the standard edition would be acceptable. For an enjoyable experience, take a look at his website. You move his character,  Stain Boy, through the Public or Private Gallery.  Since I missed his exhibit at the MoMA in New York, this is as close as I’ll get for now.

Enjoy his short film from 1982, Vincent.

-Sabrina S.

2 thoughts on “Ode to Tim Burton

  1. I love Tim Burton! I think he is a genius. His flims are visually stunning especially Alice in Wonderland, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and who could forget Nightmare before Christmas. His collabrations with Johnny Depp and Danny Elfman have also made me a fan of his. I hope that you get the art collection for Christmas! Great blog by the way! Liz 🙂

Leave a Reply

