“Lighten up, it’s just fashion!”

Illustration by Cassandra Rhodin

Every time I read that quote, “Lighten up, it’s just fashion!” I see Santino Rice singing in my mind. I was devoted to On the Road with Austin and Santino and Project Runway Season 8 last fall. I had high hopes for one Designer from the first episode on Project Runway. I live tweeted my support with hundreds of other fans each week. I still love Mondo Guerra. After the disappointing finale, I no longer want to watch Project Runway but I was still intrigued by fashion behind-the-scenes. I found The Frisky’s post about 20 fashion documentaries and have been going through list. Much to my surprise, I found several of the titles on Netflix streaming.  Here’s what I’ve enjoyed so far (with descriptions from IMDB):

September Issue (2009) “A documentary chronicling Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour’s preparations for the 2007 fall-fashion issue.”

Seamless (2005) “A look at what it takes for young designers to make it in the fashion world.”

Valentino: The Last Emperor (2008) “A look at the life of legendary fashion designer Valentino.”

Yves Saint Laurent: His Life and Times (2002) “A look into the life of the man who re-imagined women’s fashion.” (Austin Scarlett really reminds me of Yves.)

Eleven Minutes (2008) “Feature documentary following fashion designer, Jay McCarroll’s year-long journey preparing his first independent runway show and selling his clothing line to stores.”

Unzipped (1995) “Isaac Mizrahi, one of the most successful designers in high fashion, plans his fall 1994 collection.”

Want more? Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Fall 2011 is February 10-17.  Check out photos & videos from Spring 2011! Even more? Check out this list of Fashion Biographies and Memoirs.

-Sabrina

One thought on ““Lighten up, it’s just fashion!”

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention “Lighten up, it’s just fashion!” « X Meets Y Club Blog -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

