What I’m Diggin…

What I’m Diggin is a quick portion of the XmeetsY blog that just lets our readers know what I am into for that week and what we have to offer at the library on that specific topic. I recently picked up “The Rescuers Down Under” on Blu-Ray. Although I am probably to old for Disney movies, this was one of my favorites as a kid and still is. I bring that up to lead into what I am diggin this week. There is a particular song in “The Rescuers Down Under” that I liked as a kid. I actually forgot about it until recently when I  re-watched the movie on Blu-Ray. There is a part of the movie where Wilbur the albatross is dancing to a song in an airplane hanger, the bird has some moves. Let me clear something up really quick for those of you who might not be familiar with the movie. Wilbur is an albatross who is given the task of flying two RAS agents, who are mice, to Australia to help a young boy who has been kid napped. Wilbur is voiced by the late and great John Candy, which makes the scene so much better. I put the video below so you can first see Wilbur singing the song, it’s pretty funny.

 

The song that he is singing in the first one minute of the clip is called “Black Slacks” and is sung by the late 1950s band Joe Bennett and The Sparkletones. That song is what I’ve been diggin, I’ve recently re-discovered a love for Rockabilly music. I did a little searching and found out that the library actually has a CD with that particular song on it, its on a greatest hits album mixed with a few other well known Rockabilly musicians.   That particular CD can be found in our library’s catalog here.  There’s so many different Rockabilly bands out there. Here’s a few to start out with that I found that we have at our library: Rockabilly Riot, Brian Setzer Orchestra, Elvis Presley and the Original Rock ‘n’ Roll Kings, and Stray Cats.

-J-

One thought on “What I’m Diggin…

  1. I love that movie! Now i’m going to have to go find a copy…

Leave a Reply

